Day 88: Professional Development Day

SBG

Pro-D There are no classes today because of our district’s professional development day.  I scheduled to give a workshop on Standards Based Grading, but only 2 people committed to attdending.  Because they live from quite a distance away, they (rightly) decided to pass on this opportunity.

Part of me says that I should keep offering to do a workshop on SBG, but another part of me says that nothing will change. I guess teachers around me are very content with their grading systems.  I don’t think most of them know any other way, but there you have it. I’m always surprised by this. It took me less than a week of teaching to realize there was something drastically wrong with the typical gradebook approach.

Leave a Reply

