Day 4 – CV Buggies

WP_20150916_11_00_11_Pro

WP_20150914_10_09_23_Pro WP_20150914_10_09_14_Pro

Physics 11 – The day started with a ball drop activity before we moved on to using constant velocity buggies* to analyze motion and come up with a model for constant velocity.  To reinforce how “almost meaningless” the physics in Science 10 is (they do kinematics in science 10), most students perform this task as if they’ve never studied motion before.  This suits me fine, because we get to start from scratch with model building.

I got the “it depends” idea from Brian Frank and his excellent blog: https://teachbrianteach.wordpress.com/2015/08/26/day-3-launching-the-buggy-lab/

I also reviewed how to get an equation of a line using the slope-intercept form. I anticipate many battles over the next few weeks as kids are weened off of x and y, and start to view symbols as having a meaning and not just a placeholder for something that is solved for.

* My choice was either to use $220 of my $250 classroom budget for the year and buy the buggies through the school and their supplier, or spend $100 of my own money and order the buggies myself (from the USA for less than 1/2 the price than the rip-off educational science stores).  I bought them myself.  That’s what we have to do in BC.

One thought on “Day 4 – CV Buggies

  1. Pingback: Applying Cognitive Load Theory » Physics of Learning Blog

Leave a Reply

