Day 25 – Self Assessment for Labs

WP_20151014_10_53_34_Pro

Science 8 – After writing down their lab reports, for which I gave the students loose instructions, I handed out a completed lab report that I wrote. I then asked the students to compare their labs with mine.  They had to compare and contrast their lab with mine and then describe two things they did well and two things that they could improve upon. I really like this activity because:

  • they have to think about their lab reports, rather than file away a marked report
  • they have to  explicitly describe areas where they can improve
  • I don’t have to spend an hour per class marking for no real benefit
Leave a Reply

